Press Releases

Gohmert Sticks To His Word And Supports Webster for Speaker of the House

Rep. Louie Gohmert (TX-01) released the following statement today regarding the news that the majority of the Texas Republican Delegation endorsed Chairman Paul Ryan for Speaker:

“Since the beginning of this contested race for Speaker of the House, it has been my pledge to support Congressman Daniel Webster. Dan is the only person I am aware of who has ever been a Speaker anywhere and decentralized power to get it back in the hands of its members. Speaker Boehner is no longer going to be Speaker because he was too powerful, and I simply cannot vote for a candidate who demands more power before he agrees to be Speaker. I am a man of my word, and my support is still with Dan. He is the person who can return power to its rightful place – members who represent the American people.”

“As pointed out in the Texas Delegation’s joint release, the group reached a ‘consensus’ but two of us made commitments to Dan we will keep.”

“Chairman Ryan was a leader in pushing the Wall Street bailout, supported Barney Frank's same sex agenda, voted for legislation that would have allowed the District of Columbia to have a United States Representative, even though the U.S. Constitution clearly states that ‘representatives shall be from the several States’, and he is supported by some of the most liberal Democrats because of his amnesty stance.”

“Though Chairman Ryan is smart, articulate, a great father and husband, our country is in trouble and sadly, he has been on the wrong side of extremely critical issues and indicates he requires more autonomy than even John Boehner.”

Congressman Gohmert is the Chairman of the Natural Resources Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations and the Vice Chair of the Judiciary Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism and Homeland Security. Prior to being elected to serve in Congress, he was elected to three terms as District Judge in Smith County, Texas and was appointed by then Texas Governor Rick Perry to complete a term as Chief Justice of the 12th Court of Appeals.


# # #