Press Releases

Gohmert on President Trump’s Decision to Withdraw from Iran Deal

Congressman Louie Gohmert (TX-01) released the following statement today regarding President Trump’s announcement that the United States will withdraw from the Iran Nuclear Deal:

“Today President Trump did what may be the most consequential action in preserving the advancements of modern civilization and self-government when he announced the withdrawal by the United States from the Iran agreement.”

“That agreement was, in fact, a treaty, because it affected other prior treaties, which means the Senate is required to ratify it with two thirds of the Senate voting for it. The Senate and then President Obama agreed to violate the Constitution and, in essence, agreed that it would be considered valid if only one third voted to support it. In addition to being unconstitutionally ratified, the agreement provided over $100 billion to the largest supplier of terrorism in the world.”

“There should be no question that at least some of the money the Obama administration sent was and will be used to kill innocent Americans and others. That Iran agreement also insured that Iran would have nuclear weapons in at least 10 years, and many believe that violations by Iran would allow it to have nuclear capability much sooner. I personally am also aware that the agreement was not being enforced, nor could it be. The two IAEA inspectors of Iranian nuclear efforts assured me that they could not possibly know for sure whether Iran was violating the agreement.”

“President Trump’s action today means that Iran can and should be stopped before they can usher in a new holocaust. Thank You, President Trump.”

Congressman Gohmert is the Vice Chairman of the Natural Resources Committee and the Vice Chair of the Judiciary Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism and Homeland Security. Prior to being elected to serve in Congress, he was elected to three terms as District Judge in Smith County, Texas and was appointed by then Texas Governor Rick Perry to complete a term as Chief Justice of the 12th Court of Appeals.

# # #